Skip to main content

Find specialized databases

Physical sciences databases only.
For more databases in other subjects, see the full Cornell University Library listing .

Astronomy
Chemistry
Physics
Showing 3 matches.
NASA technical reports server
Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts to technical reports from NASA collections as well as external collections not maintained by NASA. Subjects covered include aeronautics, space science, chemistry, engineering, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, computer sciences, and physics. Includes links to full text of reports available digitally in pdf or PostScript formats.
National Center for Biotechnology Information :NCBI
Website for the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), which is responsible for building, maintaining, and distributing GenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database that collects all known DNA sequences from scientists worldwide. Focuses on biomedical and genomic information.
NIST chemistry webbook
"The NIST Chemistry WebBook contains thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds, reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions, IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds, mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds, UV/Vis spectra for over 1600 compounds, electronic and vibrational spectra for over 4500 compounds, constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data) for over 600 compounds, ion energetics data for over 16,000 compounds and thermophysical property data for 34 fluids. There are numerous ways to search for data on specific compounds including name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties. The NIST Chemistry WebBook is a comprehensive source for chemical and physical property data for chemical compounds."--"Best Free Reference Web Sites 2004." RUSA Quarterly, Fall 2004; reviewed 3/25/2004.