Skip to main content

Find specialized databases

Physical sciences databases only.
For more databases in other subjects, see the full Cornell University Library listing .

Astronomy
Chemistry
Physics
Showing 9 matches.
SAE digital library
The Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Digital Library provides access to thousands of SAE Technical Papers covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Science.gov :FirstGov for science : connects you to U.S. government science and technology
Science.gov is a portal for accessing government science information and research results that searches over 42 scientific databases, 200 million pages of science information, and content contributed by 14 U.S. government agencies with just one query. It is a gateway to over 2000 scientific Websites.
SciFinder
SciFinder provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. Includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. Covers chemistry, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, and food science, from 1907 to the present. Users may search more than 27 million citations by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, and CAS abstract number. More than 33 million chemical substances may be searched by chemical name, chemical structure, substructure, CAS Registry Numbers, and formula.
Scitation
Provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies. Covers physics, astronomy, electronics, engineering, materials science, mathematics and associated disciplines. Discover more than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers. Includes searchable links to Scitation, SPIN, Scitation + SPIN, PubMed/Medline and Scitopia.
Spectral database for organic compounds :SDBS
An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. Since 1997, SDBS has been open to the public free of charge through TACC (Tsukuba Advanced Computing Center) as RIO-DB (Research Information Data Base).
SPIE digital library
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to 300,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. Approximately 18,000 research papers are added each year. SPIE eBooks includes over 130 monographs, reference books, tutorial texts, and field guides.
SPIN
AIP's SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. The SPIN database differs from Scitation in that it includes articles that are hosted on other online platforms.
SpringerMaterials :the Landolt-Börnstein database
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a database on thermophysical properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a database on inorganic solid phases and chemical safety data.
Synthesis digital library of engineering and computer science
An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50- to 100-page self-contained electronic documents--lectures, which are organized into a hierarchical structure of disciplines and series. Each is authored by a prominent contributor to the field. New series and lectures are added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed.