Skip to main content

Find specialized databases

Physical sciences databases only.
For more databases in other subjects, see the full Cornell University Library listing .

Astronomy
Chemistry
Physics
Showing 5 matches.
WebCSD
Web interface to Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) without the need to install client software. Contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction.
WebElements :the periodic table on the Web
Aims to be a high quality source of information on the WWW about the periodic table for students. For each element includes illustrations and information on history, isolation, compounds, uses, physical data, electronic data, nuclear data, biology, geology, and structure.
Web of science
Web of Science - All Databases indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet
"Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) are an essential resource for those working with hazardous chemicals and include physical and chemical characteristics, hazards, safe handling, emergency and first aid procedures and more. 'Where to Find MSDS in the Internet' provides descriptions of and links to over 100 free MSDS collections available on the Internet. The sites are divided into general, government and nonprofit agencies, chemical manufacturers and suppliers, pesticides, and miscellaneous sites. The site also includes an MSDS FAQ, a glossary of common MSDS terms, over 325 relevant government regulations, suppliers and more supplementary material. There is some advertising, but it does not detract from a highly useful guide for locating free MSDS on the Internet."--"Best Free Reference Web Sites 2004," RUSA Quarterly, Fall 2004; reviewed March 6, 2004.
WolframAlpha
Self-described as a "computational knowledge engine," Wolfram Alpha's long-term goal is to make all systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone. It aims to collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. Its goal is to build on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries. Wolfram Alpha is built with Mathematica and does computations on over 10 trillion points of data from its own internal knowledge base, instead of searching the web and returning links. The site has a very minimalist design, which well warrants poking around in -- it provides much more than just a numerical answer to a calculation, as well as providing numerical and graphical responses to non-mathematical searches. Source information is provided with a link at the bottom of each results page.