Skip to main content

Databases


Astronomy

ADS: the SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3385000
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an abstract service, which draws abstracts from a variety of national and international scientific sources. The abstracts are divided into four sets: astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and the ArXiv Preprints archive.

arXiv.org
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3932532
Created by Paul Ginsparg at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico and launched in 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.

CDS (Strasbourg astronomical Data Center)
http://cdsportal.u-strasbg.fr/
CDS portal for SIMBAD database, VizieR catalogue service, and Aladin interactive software sky atlas at CDS.

Imagine the Universe!
https://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov
Provides students, teachers, and the general public with an insight into the use of high-energy astrophysics to probe the structure and evolution of th universe. Includes the contents of six interactive Internet websites (without hypertext links) that are geared toward space sciences education at every reading and learning level.

IRSA: the NASA/IPAC Infrared Science Archive
http://irsa.ipac.caltech.edu/frontpage/
IRSA is chartered to curate the science products of NASA's infrared and submillimeter missions, including many large-area and all-sky surveys. In total, IRSA provides access to more than 20 billion astronomical measurements, including all-sky coverage in 20 bands. Approximately 10% of all refereed astronomical journal articles cite data sets curated by IRSA.

NED: the NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
https://ned.ipac.caltech.edu/
The NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED) is operated by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, under contract with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

SIMBAD Astronomical Database
http://simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad/
The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system. SIMBAD can be queried by object name, coordinates and various criteria. Lists of objects and scripts can be submitted.

Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS)
www.sdss.org/
The Sloan Digital Sky Survey includes optical images, optical/IR spectra, and parameters measured from them for more than three million astronomical objects.


Chemistry

AACC International Approved Methods of Analysis
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/7017551
More than 325 methods of analysis in grain science, internationally accepted and continuously updated. Includes built-in calculators, videos, spreadsheets, co-lab reports, audio PowerPoints, color images, supplier index, archive of replaced methods, and cross-reference tables.

ACS Reagent Chemicals
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/10001066
Includes pecifications and procedures for reagents and standard-grade reference materials.

BRENDA: the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
https://www.brenda-enzymes.org/
BRENDA is maintained and developed at the Institute of Biochemistry and Bioinformatics at the Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany. Data on enzyme function are extracted directly from the primary literature by scientists holding a degree in Biology or Chemistry. Formal and consistency checks are done by computer programs, each data set on a classified enzyme is checked manually by at least one biologist and one chemist.

CSD: the Cambridge Structural Database
Download software: http://www.ccdc.cam.ac.uk/SupportandResources/Downloads/Pages/CSDS-Downl...
(Please contact Leah McEwen (lrm1@cornell.edu) for the Site No. and the Confirmation Code.)
Contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures.

ChemDraw Professional
Download software: http://sitelicense.cambridgesoft.com/sitelicense.cfm?sid=683
(Use your @cornell.edu email to register)
ChemDraw Professional is the complete drawing tool of choice for chemists and biologists to create publication-ready, scientifically intelligent drawings for use in ELNs, databases and publications and for querying chemical databases, now including SciFinder®.

ChemIDplus Advanced
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6147657
ChemIDplus provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substance cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. ChemIDplus also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 349,000 chemical records, of which over 56,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by name, synonym, CAS registry number, molecular formula, classification code, locator code, and structure. ChemIDplus is searchable through TOXNET's Toxicology data search.

CHEMnetBASE
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6851786
Connect to menu of titles.Includes several chemical dictionaries, and the CRC handbook of chemistry & physics.

ChemSpider
http://www.chemspider.com/
"ChemSpider is a chemistry search engine. It has been built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information."

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5168655
Searchable ready-reference resource of chemical and physical data, updated with new research. Coverage includes physical constants of organic compounds, properties of the elements and inorganic compounds, thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics, fluid properties, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure and spectroscopy, atomic, molecular and optical physics, nuclear and particle physics, properties of solids, polymer properties, geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics, practical laboratory data, health and safety information. Searchable by text, and by substance/property.

CrystalMaker
Download software: http://crystalmaker.com/downloads/
(Please contact Leah McEwen (lrm1@cornell) for License Codes.)
CrystalMaker is a program for building, displaying, manipulating and animating crystal and molecular structures. Features photo-realistic graphics and 3D visualization. Screen tools provide real-time structure rotation, scaling, selection and measurement, whilst the Overview window lets you browse multiple structures, keep track of your undo states, or assemble multi-frame animations.

EPA Chemistry Dashboard
https://comptox.epa.gov/dashboard
The Chemistry Dashboard is a part of a suite of databases and web applications developed by the US Environmental Protection Agency's Chemical Safety for Sustainability Research Program. These databases and apps support EPA's computational toxicology research efforts to develop innovative methods to change how chemicals are currently evaluated for potential health risks. EPA researchers integrate advances in biology, biotechnology, chemistry, and computer science to identify important biological processes that may be disrupted by the chemicals. The combined information helps prioritize chemicals based on potential health risks. Using computational toxicology research methods, thousands of chemicals can be evaluated for potential risk at small cost in a very short amount of time.

e-EROS : the Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4478166
Covers both classical reagents and the new 'designer' reagents used in organic chemistry. Among the types of reagents included are: oxidizing agents, transition metal organometallic reagents, enzymatic reagents, catalysts, protecting groups, peptide reagents and many more.

GEMS: Greener Educational Materials for Chemists
http://greenchem.uoregon.edu/gems.html
GEMs is an interactive tool for the organization and dissemination of core green chemistry educational materials. Our goal is to facilitate the incorporation of green chemistry materials into the curriculum by providing information about laboratory exercises, lecture materials, course syllabi and multimedia content that illustrate chemical concepts important for green chemistry.

ICSD Web
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/icsd
Collection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds recorded in the literature of the field from 1913-present.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4478151
Contains the complete text, including citations, tables, and abstracts, of many volumes of the 4th ed. of the Encyclopedia of chemical technology. Covers chemical technology in the areas of agricultural chemicals; chemical engineering; coatings and inks; drugs, cosmetics, and biomaterials; ecology and industrial hygiene; food and animal nutrition; industrial organic and inorganic chemicals; and plastics and elastomers. The manufacture and distribution of chemicals is also covered in the following areas: computers, instrumentation, and control; information retrieval; patents and trademarks; purchasing, materials allocations, and supply; and research and operations management.

Knovel
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4004406
Knovel provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Subject areas covered include: chemistry and chemical engineering, plastics and rubbers, semiconductors, advanced materials, and safety, health and hygiene.

KnowItAll Anyware
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/7019280
Online spectral search/retrieval system available to any institution with a valid license to use the system of over 1.3 million spectra (IR, NMR, MS, Raman, UV-Vis) including chemical structures and properties. Users can access spectral data from virtually any hardware platform or operating system.

KnowItAll U
Download analysis client: http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/9157598
KnowItAll U offers unlimited access to over 1.4 million spectra (with related properties and structures). Spectral database includes IR, Raman, NMR (CNMR, HNMR, XNMR), MS, and UV-Vis spectra. Access with KnowItAll AnyWare, a simple platfrom-independent web browser interface. Alternately, access with KnowItAll software for advanced spectral analyses, structure drawing, NMR prediction, and more. Search by full spectrum, peak, structure, substructure, property (name, molecular weight, CAS Registry Number, boiling point, etc.), or any combination.

LCSS: Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary
https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/lcss/
The Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) is based on the format described by the National Research Council in the publication "Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards" (2011). The LCSS in PubChem contains pertinent chemical hazard and safety information. It is available when a GHS Classification (Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals) is present for a given PubChem Compound record. The LCSS is linked directly from the compound page. The GHS classification codes and hazard pictograms are summarized in the PubChem GHS page. The LCSS data from PubChem is freely available, and can be downloaded as a data stream in bulk or on-demand from the PubChem website.

The LCSS in PubChem compiles chemical hazard and safety information from many agencies and is linked directly from PubChem Compound records. The LCSS data from PubChem is freely available, and can be downloaded as a data stream in bulk or on-demand from the PubChem website.

MatNavi
http://mits.nims.go.jp/index_en.html
Materials database from the National Institute for Materials Science, Japan.

The Merck Index Online
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/8496923
The Merck index online offers the same information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs, including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck index online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.

NIST Chemistry Webbook
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS87332
The NIST Chemistry WebBook contains thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds, reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions, IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds, mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds, UV/Vis spectra for over 1600 compounds, electronic and vibrational spectra for over 4500 compounds, constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data) for over 600 compounds, ion energetics data for over 16,000 compounds and thermophysical property data for 34 fluids. There are numerous ways to search for data on specific compounds including name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.

Organic Reactions
http://encompass.library.cornell.edu/cgi-bin/checkIP.cgi?access=gateway_...
Organic Reactions is a comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. Organic Reactions currently consists of over 140,000 reactions, and will continue to grow annually. Organic Reactions is the definitive resource for synthetic transformations, with an emphasis on preparative aspects. Comprehensive coverage of all examples of a given reaction is provided in tabular form. In addition to providing reaction scope, stereochemical aspects, and side reactions, a selection of representative experimental conditions are given.--Reference work home.

Organic Syntheses
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6147397
Since 1921, Organic syntheses has provided the chemistry community with annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction and all characterization data has been carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors. Organic Syntheses procedures may be accessed either via the tables of contents of individual volumes ("journal mode") or by conducting structure and keyword searches ("database mode"). Specific individual procedures can be accessed via the table of contents for either the original annual volume or collective volume in which the procedure appeared. "Database mode" allows users to simultaneously search all volumes of Organic Syntheses by keywords or by inputting structures and substructures.

Physical Reference Data
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/art8236
Contains links to all of the online databases maintained by the NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory, including data on fundamental physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopy, ionization cross sections, absorption of x-rays and gamma rays, radiation dosimetry, half-life measurements, atomic weights, and condensed matter physics--Products and services page.

Protein Research Foundation Databases
https://www.prf.or.jp/aboutdb-e.html
The Peptide Institute, Protein Research Foundation, is collecting the information related to amino acids, peptides and proteins and making databases. Includes: Literature Database (PRF/LITDB), Peptide/Protein Sequence Database (PRF/SEQDB), Synthetic Compounds Database (PRF/SYNDB)

Powder Diffraction File (PDF4+)
Requires dongle, please contact Leah McEwen (lrm1@cornell.edu) for assistance.)
Information: http://www.icdd.com/products/webpdf4.htm
Contains integrated viewing software, DDView+, and a search-index plug-in, Sleve+

PubChem
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS61236
PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. PubChem is integrated with Entrez, NCBI's primary search engine, and also provides compound neighboring, sub/superstructure, similarity structure, bioactivity data, and other searching features.

Reaxys
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6851736
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Reaxys accesses the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.

Science of Synthesis
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/9266915
Science of Synthesis provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab. Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group. Provides text, structure, substructure, and reaction searching capabilities in a powerful, yet easy-to-use, intuitive interface in order to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization. Includes a backfile with the complete Houben-Weyl series, published between 1909 and 2003 and stretching back to methods of the 1800s. The backfile documents are available in PDF format and their tables of content are text searchable. The backfile includes access to 146,000 product specific experimental procedures, 580,000 structures, and 700,000 references. From 2010 onward, Science of Synthesis is being updated quarterly with high-quality content via Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates. The goal of the Science of Synthesis Knowledge Updates is to provide a continuous review of the field of synthetic organic chemistry, with an eye toward evaluating and analyzing significant new developments in synthetic methods. The Reference Library comprises volumes covering special topics of organic chemistry in a modular fashion, with six main classifications: 1) classical, 2) advances, 3) transformations, 4) applications, 5) structures, and 6) techniques.

SciFinder
Register first: http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6197957
(Use your @cornell.edu email to register)
Database: http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6197957a
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 61 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information.

SOLV-DB
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/art8309
Database of physical, chemical, health and safety, regulatory and environmental fate data on over 100 common organic solvents, provided by the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences. It is searchable by name, formula, CAS Registry Number, property data values and so forth.

SDBS: Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6147334
An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. Since 1997, SDBS has been open to the public free of charge through TACC (Tsukuba Advanced Computing Center) as RIO-DB (Research Information Data Base).

Spectra data base
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/9712204
UV/Vis+ photochemistry data base compiled from the literature.

SpringerMaterials : the Landolt-Börnstein Database
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/7117039
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a database on thermophysical properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a database on inorganic solid phases and chemical safety data.

WebCSD
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6815028
Web interface to Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) without the need to install client software. Contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction.

WTT: NIST/TRC Web Thermo Tables
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/8762585
This is a web version of the TRC Thermodynamic Tables (Hydrocarbons and Non-Hydrocarbons) and represents a complete collection of critically evaluated thermodynamic property data primarily for pure organic compounds.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.proxy.library.cornell.edu/book/10.1002/97...
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology is an authoritative work illuminating the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences, and is essential for academic researchers and advanced students looking for timely review-type information in this field. The reference reflects the multidimensional character of chemical biology, focusing in particular on the fundamental science of biological structures and systems, the use of chemical and biological techniques to elucidate that science, and the applications of this knowledge in areas as diverse as drug discovery, sensor technology, and catalysis.

Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4833793
"Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) are an essential resource for those working with hazardous chemicals and include physical and chemical characteristics, hazards, safe handling, emergency and first aid procedures and more. 'Where to Find MSDS in the Internet' provides descriptions of and links to over 100 free MSDS collections available on the Internet. The sites are divided into general, government and nonprofit agencies, chemical manufacturers and suppliers, pesticides, and miscellaneous sites. The site also includes an MSDS FAQ, a glossary of common MSDS terms, over 325 relevant government regulations, suppliers and more supplementary material. There is some advertising, but it does not detract from a highly useful guide for locating free MSDS on the Internet."--"Best Free Reference Web Sites 2004," RUSA Quarterly, Fall 2004; reviewed March 6, 2004.

Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.proxy.library.cornell.edu/book/10.1002/14...
Online encyclopedia including approximately 1,000 articles detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc. International in scope and coverage and written by some 3,000 authors who are affiliated with leading chemical companies or research institutes.


Physics

ADS: the SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3385000
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an abstract service, which draws abstracts from a variety of national and international scientific sources. The abstracts are divided into four sets: astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and the ArXiv Preprints archive.

arXiv.org
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3932532
Created by Paul Ginsparg at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico and launched in 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.

Collected Papers of Albert Einstein
http://einsteinpapers.press.princeton.edu/
""Digital Einstein Papers is an exciting new free, open-access website that puts The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein online for the very first time, bringing the writings of the twentieth century's most influential scientist to a wider audience than ever before. This unique, authoritative resource provides full public access to the complete transcribed, annotated, and translated contents of each print volume of The Collected Papers."

ComPADRE
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6144066
The AAPT ComPADRE Digital Library is a network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5168655
Searchable ready-reference resource of chemical and physical data, updated with new research. Coverage includes physical constants of organic compounds, properties of the elements and inorganic compounds, thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics, fluid properties, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure and spectroscopy, atomic, molecular and optical physics, nuclear and particle physics, properties of solids, polymer properties, geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics, practical laboratory data, health and safety information. Searchable by text, and by substance/property.

INSPEC
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3932532
Searchable with Engineering Village, INSPEC provides abstracts and indexing to scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology. Use the checkboxes to select and search INSPEC separately. Coverage is 1896 to date.

INSPIRE
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5184844
CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE, which empowers scientists with innovative tools for successful research at the dawn of an era of new discoveries. INSPIRE combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of the four labs, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, and other information resources.

The NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/art8238
This site addresses three topics: fundamental physical constants, the International System of Units (SI), which is the modern metric system, and expressing the uncertainty of measurement results. It includes online databases and a searchable bibliography, articles and a document delivery service.

Physical Reference Data
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/art8236
Contains links to all of the online databases maintained by the NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory, including data on fundamental physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopy, ionization cross sections, absorption of x-rays and gamma rays, radiation dosimetry, half-life measurements, atomic weights, and condensed matter physics--Products and services page.

The Physics Front (AAPT)
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6138613
The Physics Front is a web-based area for teachers of Conceptual, AP and Algebra-based physics as well as teachers of Physics First and Physical Science. This material is meant to serve as resources to enrich the high school physics experience. The materials found in this collection have been selected (and are continuously being updated by the Editor and the Editorial Board), as being quality resources for use in lesson plans, activities, labs and demonstrations. The featured items are meant to be definitive, merely representative of possible good resources available; additional materials are available on the Physical Sciences Resource Center (PSRC) and the other collections in ComPADRE.

SpringerMaterials : the Landolt-Börnstein database
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/7117039
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a database on thermophysical properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a database on inorganic solid phases and chemical safety data.

Statistical Research Center (AIP)
http://www.aip.org/statistics/
The Statistical Research Center contains data on education and employment in physics, astronomy, and associated fields. The center provides reports on trends in education of interest to students and teachers, as well as employment data in various sectors for each level of education.


General/Other

BIOSIS Previews
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5960113
Issued as a part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. BIOSIS also combines the content from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.

Computer and Information Science Technical Reports
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4637179
Cornell University Library technical reports and papers is a service that makes available papers and technical reports from a variety of different disciplines.

Engineering Village
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4122779
Web-based information service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Includes Compendex and INSPEC. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering. Online coverage including backfile is from 1884 to date and includes the Engineering index. INSPEC contains bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. It concentrates on electrical and electronic engineering, physics, information technology, and computer and control systems. Coverage is 1969 to date.

KMoDDLL Kinematic Models for Design Digital Library
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/databases/show/5146902
The Kinematic Models for Design Digital Library (KMODDL) is an open access, multimedia resource for learning and teaching about kinematics ¡ the geometry of pure motion ¡ and the history and theory of machines. KMODDL is a pedagogical space designed for use by teachers and researchers, as well as students at a range of educational levels, and other learners, young and adult. The core of KMODDL is the Reuleaux Collection of Kinematic Mechanisms at Cornell University, which comprises more than 200 models developed by Franz Reuleaux (1829-1905), the founder of kinematics, for teaching and researching the principles of mechanical motion. KMODDL provides online access to the Reuleaux Collection via still and interactive moving images and descriptions of the models, as well as computer simulations, tutorials, and related full-text documents.

PubMed
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/apw3190
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Science.gov : FirstGov for science
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS41277
Science.gov is a portal for accessing government science information and research results that searches over 42 scientific databases, 200 million pages of science information, and content contributed by 14 U.S. government agencies with just one query. It is a gateway to over 2000 scientific Websites.

SciTech Connect
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/databases/show/8246159
Available from the U.S. Government Printing Office

Scopus
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/9897789
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Web of Science
http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/apz6164
Web of Science - All Databases indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.